State Designated Agency, Tripura (TSECL)

    The Power Supply industry in Tripura was under the control of the Department of Power, Government of Tripura till 31st December 2004. The Department of Power, Government of Tripura was entrusted with Generation, Transmission, and Distribution including Rural Electrification since inception. The Department of Power had remained a beneficiary constituent of North Eastern Regional Electricity Board. Tripura State Electricity Corporation Limited had started functioning w.e.f 1st January 2005. Subsequently TSECL has taken over the entire existing network along with asset of erstwhile Department of Power for operating and maintaining the power supply industry in the State of Tripura.


    The State having a Population of 36.74 Lakhs as per 2011 census and spread over 10,492 sq. km. In January 2012, major changes were implemented in the administrative divisions of Tripura. Now there are 8 districts comprising of 23 nos. of Sub-Divisions & 58 nos. of Rural Development Blocks and 870 nos. of villages. The state is predominantly agrarian with few small scale industries. 


    In line with the provision of the MOU between Ministry of Power, Govt. of India and Government of Tripura, the State Government decided to introduce reforms in the power sector in the state and restructure the sector with objectives of creating the conditions for the sustainable development of the power sector in the state and improving the efficiency of services to the people of Tripura. So, in 2002, the Government of Tripura entrusted the Administrative Staff College of India (ASCI), Hyderabad to provide consultancy services to assess restructuring options and recommend suitable organisation structure for the power sector.


                                                        Background Note on SDAs .........more